Menu Close

Arancha González

Arancha González Laya and Devry Boughner Vorwerk

On Wednesday, March 8, 2023, International Women’s Day, The Economic Club of Minnesota honored the 2022 Bill Frenzel Champion of Free Trade award winner, Arancha González Laya.  Devry Boughner Vorwerk, chair of the selection committee presented the award before a capacity audience. Minister González Laya accepted the award and made remarks centering around how free and open trade is the basis for economic prosperity. 

Ms. Boughner Vorwerk and Minister González Laya had a fireside chat discussing the current landscape of the World Trade Organization, how protectionist measures can cause a fracturing of international trade. Minister González Laya would like to see all players at the table; the EU, China, the US, and other members of WTO to set out a framework for fair trade and to support climate policies to reduce carbon emissions.